10 Books for the Summer

Books for the Summer

To me, the best thing about summer is the time I get to spend reading. Whether it’s on the beach, in my garden or just in my room, the good weather always makes me want to get away from my laptop and enjoy my day. Maybe it’s because being on holiday that truly allows me to escape because I have less things to worry about (although let’s be honest I’m never 100% relaxed haha). I thought I’d share with you a little selection of books that are perfect for your Summer.

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

1 – Ann Brashares – The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

I mean if you’ve been following me on social media for a while, you know that I’ve had an obsession for The Sisterhood last year. Such an obsession that I’ve been putting off watching the movies this year by fear of going back to this state haha (I feel sorry for my family tbh) Although The Sisterhood movie is a childhood favourite of mine I never read the books so last year, I decided to buy the first one and I really enjoyed it. It’s a really quick read and combines really sweet stories of friendship, love and family. I really liked the fact that we followed the four girls’ summer and their different adventures. Also, I was really surprised to see how different Lena’s love story was compared to the movie ! I haven’t bought the second book yet, nevertheless the rest of the series but don’t worry, you’ll know about it if you follow me on my social media 😉

The Most Beautiful Thing

2 – Fiona Robyn – The Most Beautiful Thing

Alright, this book is for older readers but I absolutely loved it. My cousin bought it for Christmas a few years ago, along with a few others but this one the first one that I read. The book tells us about Joe Salt and two summers he spends in Amsterdam, at his aunt’s house. He’s only fourteen when he first goes there, and there are a few confusing things but don’t your worry, everything will make sense once you get to the second part, when Joe returns years later 😉 I really liked the growing relationship between Joe and his aunt Nel, it was probably my favourite thing about the book to be honest. Plus, the way the author portrayed mental illnesses like depression in the book felt very honest and I really enjoyed her style.

Eleanor & Park

3 – Rainbow Rowell –  Eleanor & Park

I haven’t finished this book yet, I’m only halfway through but I’ve been really enjoying it. There is something about Summer that makes me want to read love stories and Eleanor & Park’s relationship is just so pure and innocent, I love it. I’m really fond of the two characters, especially Eleanor who is just going through so much regarding her family. To be honest, except for the tapes the characters listen to and exchange, I don’t really feel like the story took place in the 80s ! I can’t wait to see where the book is going to take me !

Journey to the River Sea

4- Eva Ibbotson – Journey to the River Sea

I read the book about two years ago and if I’m not mistaken, finished it in a couple of days. Ibbotson tells the story of Maia, an orphan sent to her distant relatives in the Amazon. Maia will be extremely disappointed in them (trust me, you’ll hate them) and the young girl will instead befriend the local Indians and especially a boy planning to find his Indian mother’s people after his European father died. This story of dreams and adventure is so well written, I can’t see how you could dislike it.

We Were Liars

5 – E. Lockhart – We Were Liars

I have recently written an entire post about this book recently, which you can read here but I still had to include it in this list. I mean after all, the entire plot is about a Summer that the protagonist forgot about and tries to remember. You’ll totally get the Summer vibe you’re looking for, along with some mystery (do I have to remind you that the plot twist blew my mind?) and family relationships (with a bit of romance but it’s not the most important part).

A Year of Marvellous Ways

6 – Sarah Winman – A Year Of Marvellous Ways

I bought this book last year, mostly because it was the only book in English in the bookshop haha. I was amazed by the way the author wrote, how magical it was. I love knowing about all the character’s backstory and then have them all meet but that does mean that the story has a slow start. Let me tell you that if you keep reading, you won’t be disappointed by this beautiful story.

Girl Online

7 – Zoe Sugg – Girl Online

This book series is the only youtuber books I have bought, mostly because I knew that Zoe had wanted to be an author for a while and because it was fiction. This book is actually the reason why I wanted to really start this blog. I could relate so much about the main character and really appreciated the way she portrayed her anxiety because it made me feel less alone in this. I haven’t read the last book yet, but I need to do so as soon as I can !

Maybe Someday

8 -Colleen Hoover – Maybe Someday

I posted about this book almost two years ago (how crazy is that???) so if you want to read a much bigger review about it, you can find the post here. Basically, I really enjoyed this love story  and had a lot of emotions when I read it (don’t worry, I only cried once, the rest was mostly laughter !). Plus, the songs mentionned in the book were recorded by Griffin Peterson and they’re quite amazing as well so listen to them as well ! 😉

The Girl On the Train

9 – Paula Hawkins – The Girl On The Train

This is probably the most different book from the list but not everyone loves stories about relationships and people in general. If you’re more into thrillers, than this book might be perfect for you ! I also have a post on this one that you can read here. My favourite part about the book was probably that you could read from three different point of views and so see the characters not only the way they’re portrayed by the protagonist but as they really were, which I thought was interesting. Also, I definitely wasn’t expecting the ending ! If you don’t know if you should stick to the movie than I suggest you read the book because it’s much better than the movie (at least in my opinion !)

The Raven King

10 – Maggie Stiefvater – The Raven Cycle

If you’re looking for adventures than I suggest you read the Raven Cycle series. This is probably one of my favourites book series ever ! All the characters grew on me and now that I’ve finished the book, I miss them a lot haha. The story was so different than the usual young-adult fiction, it was refreshing. There are so many things happening though (all the characters having their own particularities) I wouldn’t know how to explain the books to anyone tbh ! It’s apparently going to be adapted in a TV Show which I’m looking forward to, except if they screw it up because I’m going to be extremely mad if they do haha

TwitterPersonal TumblrFan Tumblr – Instagram – Pinterest – Bloglovin

Laisser un commentaire

