My Current Evening Routine

Having worked on my Christmas break and then being sick on my last days before going back to uni, I knew that I didn’t have the chance to rest enough and that I had to make sure I could make it through this new semester without breaking/failing. For that reason, I have decided to put in place an evening routine, to make sure I would get as much sleep as possible during the week – I may only have 2 and a half days of class per week, but I do get up early anyway and make my days as productive as I can. Setting up a night routine is the best way for me to wash off my day and prepare my body and mind to go to sleep – I actually do find it effective, considering that I used to spend hours in bed before fallig asleep when it only takes me about 30 minutes now.

I usually start my evening by taking a shower, just to wash off my day and feeling more relaxed – there’s nothing better than a warm shower after a hard day, especially when it’s cold outside. I actually only take a shower in the evening when I have school the next morning, or else I’ll just stick to a skincare routine – I also like to have a pamper night every Sunday to feel fresh and ready to start a new week.

I then head into my room and that’s when I consider my evening routine to truly begin.The first thing I do is to put some music on and only turn on the light on my bedside table, which sets a more relaxing mood. I find that the music I like to listen to the most at this time of the day is mostly movie soundtracks, because they mostly include more relaxing music – but then it’s just what works best for me, it might be different for everyone. Lately, I’ve been listening to the Fifty Shades Of Grey and A Walk to Remember soundtracks, which are some of my favourites.

My Current Evening Routine

When the mood is set, I then begin with the first part of my routine which is my skincare one. My skincare routine is quite simple at night, I usually just put my hair up, take my makeup off and hydrate my face and lips, which tend to get quite dry at night otherwise. Plus, for some reason not having anything on your face and just feeling fresh in general makes me feel way more relaxed.

My Current Evening Routine

Being the control freak that I am, I then like to make sure I have done everything I was supposed to and I’m ready for the next day. How many times have I gone up in the middle of the night just to check if I had everything for the next day? Thought about everything I needed to have done throughout the day just to make sure I wouldn’t have to do it the next day or worse, that it was my last chance of doing so and I’d get in trouble for not doing it (that’s usually how my anxiety kept me from sleeping for hours). To make sure that wouldn’t happen again, I now have a planner in which I write everything I have to do throughout the day and just check it off as it gets done. Not only does it make me feel more productive, it also helps with my anxiety. I like to take my planner just to check if I haven’t forgotten anything in the day and just plan ahead for the following days. That’s usually when I also make my bag for uni and plan mmy outfit for the next day (that gives me more time to sleep in the morning)

My Current Evening Routine

Finally, once I feel physically and mentally relaxed, I get into bed. I usually check on social media (just to see what my friends posted on Twitter and Snapchat) but make sure not refresh them so that I don’t spend hours on my phone, which is really bad if you want a good night sleep. I then like to take time to read a book.  I hated not taking the time to read books I actually wanted last year and so I want to make sure I do now. I’ve reached for The 100 by Kass Morgan, just because I was excited about the show being back this week. Reading actually helps me to fall asleep – although I have to admit it can be hard to put the book down sometimes – because I like to make up scenarios in my head until I fall asleep and reading helps with my imagination.

TwitterPersonal TumblrFan Tumblr – Instagram – Pinterest

Laisser un commentaire

