The Night School Series

Snapchat-2736162299079151602

Ever since I got into Harry Potter, I fell in love with stories about boarding schools. Obviously, Night School is about a school as well, I mean, you can tell by the title, and that’s probably the reason why I picked it up for the first time. I actually don’t remember why I bought this book, or if it had been given to me as a gift. It has been about four years, after all !

Summary (from Goodreads) : Allie Sheridan’s world is falling apart. Her brother’s run away from home. Her parents ignore her. And she’s just been arrested.

Again.

This time her parents have had enough. They cut her off from her friends and send her away to boarding school, far from her London friends.

But at Cimmeria Academy, Allie is soon caught up in the strange activities of a secret group of elite students.

When she’s attacked late one night the incident sets off a chain of increasingly violent events. As the school begins to seem like a very dangerous place, she finds out that nothing at Cimmeria is what it seems to be.

And that she is not who she thought she was.

My thoughts :

The thing I liked about this book serie is the mystery around the Night School. I mean, you know quite from the beginning what they’re doing and their main goal, but you can’t help but wonder how they’re going to fix the situation. Because, although everything might seem simple in the book, it gets more complicated book after book. Let’s be honest, the main plot revolves around power and money, and I’ve always been fascinated by those. Not in a way that I’d want to be the most powerful and rich person in the universe (obviously I wouldn’t say no to a little a bit of money but power is just not for me, thank you), but I find it fascinating how much influence they can have on people. How far some people are willing to go for those. It’s quite scary when you think of it, and the book shows it quite well in my opinion.

The funny thing about the fact that I read the five books every time one got published, was that I had time to grow both as a reader and a person between each book, and it changed my point of view concerning a few things concerning this book. For example, when I read the first and second book and they installed a love triangle, I actually liked it because I was young and really into this sort of stuff at the time. But after that, I was just done with it. MAKE UP YOUR MIND, GIRL ! It’s probably the only thing I hated about these books. Plus, these books had so much more potential than being turned into a typical teenage romance drama. I mean, they’re basically fighting a war, who cares about boys?

Concerning the characters, I have to admit most of them grew into me. One thing I struggled with though, was my love-hate relationship with Allie. I mean, it’s probably not the character in herself but the way they portrayed her, mainly in the first book if I remember correctly. The book begins by telling us about a teenager, who seem to be a troublemaker at first, but then as soon as they put her into this boarding school, Cimmeria, she just seems to turn instantly into a good girl, and I have to admit, that pissed me off a bit. I just can’t figure her out.

About the school in itself, after all, that’s the reason why I started reading these books, I wasn’t disappointed. The picture I have in mind for it, from the descriptions and my own imagination, makes me want to live there so badly. Especially for the library, I’d probably be in it all the time to be honest. But honestly, am I the only one attracted by a school in which you don’t have the kind of technology we have, you have the best teachers possible and make friends for life (and read so much books !!!!) ? I read some of the comments about the book in which people complained about the fact that there wasn’t always action, and it made me smile because.. It’s a school, they obviously had to add this aspect of normal life for the teens in the book in order to make it more realistic because honestly, it would’ve made no sense to make it happen in a school and yet not making the kids go to class and have homeworks, right?

One thing that made me laugh is that, if you look at the aspect of the book and the categories it’s put in on Goodreads, you actually expect a young adult fantasy novel, with supernatural creatures and everything, when that’s actually not the case AT ALL. So if you’re looking for some paranormal stories, I know there’s a lot of them but this one isn’t. Sorry 😉 (but that doesn’t make it any less good if you ask me !)

Facebook Page – TwitterPersonal TumblrFan Tumblr – Instagram – Pinterest

Laisser un commentaire

