My 1st year at University

If some of you have followed the blog for quite a while, you might remember that around the end of September, I started going to Uni for the first time and wrote a post about my first impressions which you can read here. Since my year is now over – well, I still have an exam on May 10th but other than that, I am completely free – I thought it’d be a good idea to go back and tell you about my experience. This way, you can have a Before-After and realize that, even though I was as anxious as it gets in my first week, things didn’t turn as bad as I thought.

The first thing that comes into my mind when I come to think of this year is how quickly it has gone, espacially the second semester. It literally feels like I blinked and BAM ! it was over. Of course it has its perks, for example, I’m on summer break even though I feel like I had about 4 months of class, but it can also be really stressfull. You can’t just relax for a month and think you have time until the exam, because trust me, exams weeks will be here before you realize it. I am lucky enough to be a really organized person so I wasn’t overwhelmed by the sudden work I had to do, but I know it wasn’t the case for everyone. I’m the kind of person who likes to plan everything and I make list all the time – I even started a bullet journal last month in order to keep track of what I’m doing and what I have to do. Of course, I’m not saying that you should do the same, I know that some people couldn’t stick to it and it would be pointless to them, but a little bit of organisation is never gonna hurt, trust me !

One of the best things that happened to me this year was definitely the people I met. I might not have made friends in the second semester but the ones I made in the first one are friends I intend to keep for a long time. It’s just so much more pleasant to go to class knowing that you’ll spend the day with your group of friends, and these girls always put me in the best mood possible. We just never get bored. I was quite sad, not having them all the time with me in the second semester, but I managed to see them in some classes or hang out with them at lunch time or the free time I had during the day. Not having new friends during the second semester didn’t bother me the slightest, not only because I already had the friend I had before going to Uni (I talked about it in the 1st week post) but as I said, time went really quickly and I was more focused in my classes than the friends I could make to be honest.

My biggest worry at the beginning of the year was definitely not being good enough or finding out that I don’t like the classes I took. Thankfully, being a Literature student was the best thing I could hope for. I truly found myself and I know that a lot of people don’t have the chance to figure it out the first time, which makes me feel even more grateful. Of course, it’s okay to realize that the studies you chose aren’t good for you, that you don’t see yourself continuing for years. I had multiple friends who decided to change their course, and that’s okay. Better try different things now than figure out in twenty years that this isn’t what you want to do with the rest of your life.

I have also been told so many times that Uni would be so much harder than high school, that we would all be crushed, never sleep and just hope for the best, but this was nothing but bullshit (I apologize for my language but I couldn’t find a better word for it). As long as you do the work and pay attention in class, you’ll do fine. My grades are the same as in High School, if not better. I think that being interested in what you do is what makes a difference, and will help you get better grades because you’ll be more invested. The only time I was really anxious about my grades was this week, because it was my finals week and for some reason, I thought I wouldn’t make it this semester – which is why I didn’t post last week, as you should know if you went on the blog’s Facebook page (linked below).

Of course, uni means you need to be more independent so if you aren’t, this may not be where you should go, and there are so many more options if you could take that will be a better fit for you ! You don’t HAVE to go to Uni, you don’t even have to continue your studies after High School if it’s not for you. You can do whatever you want in your life and if that means starting to work right away, than do so. You shouldn’t feel forced to do something, you should do it in your own way, in your own time. I just happened to feel ready for Uni and have always been the « good girl » who likes learning new things in school, so going to Uni was the right path for me 🙂

Facebook Page – TwitterPersonal TumblrFan Tumblr – Instagram – Pinterest

2 réflexions sur “My 1st year at University

Laisser un commentaire

