The Shannara Chronicles

The Shannara Chronicles

How long has it been since the last time I began watching a new show when its first aired? Far too long, that’s how long. I found out about Shannara through Vanessa Hudgens, I’m not gonna lie and I don’t regret it. I already knew Austin Butler because he played in a few shows I love so of course when I saw he played the main character of this new show, I just had to check it out.

The Shannara Chronicles is an adaptation of the books by Terry Brooks (which I haven’t read.. yet) and I always like book adaptations when they are turned into a tvshow. Funny enough, I rarely know about the books being adapted into a tv show but I always do when they are adapted into a movie so I always end up reading the books after the tv show. Given the few episodes from The Shannara Chronicles that have aired so far, I can tell that I’m gonna love the books. And I love that the tv shows are often different from the books because it means I get to discover it in another way once I pick up the book.

Synopsis : The Four Lands, normally a land of magic and peace, faces a threat beyond man: Demons. Banished ages ago, they were held back by a magical wall known as the Forbidding. Yet the source of that magic, the magical tree known as the Ellcrys, is dying, and thus the wall wanes. When the acolytes who tend to the tree are all killed, the wise Druid Allanon turns to Amberle, the last remaining disciple, to save the tree. Only she can take the seed of the elven tree to the faraway Bloodfire, to replant the Ellcrys and stop the Demons. To protect her, Allanon sends the young Wil Ohmsford, a descendant of heroes past. As the two youth head on a perilous journey, Allanon and the entire Elven Nation stand together to hold back the Demons and stop them from destroying the Four Lands. (from imdb)

I was actually surprised by how good the special effects and the quality in general are in the show, considering it’s an MTV tv show but you really find yourself in another world. I guess you could say it’s the same kind of universe than the Lord of the Rings one, which I have always been a fan of. Fun fact, I grew up wanting to be an elf, so I always love to watch movies or tv shows with elves in it haha. Obviously, I have only watched 4 episode so far so I’m still expecting some things but so far so good. I’m not a difficult person when it comes to tv shows but even my brother likes the show so far, and that’s something, trust me !

Concerning the characters and the cast, I am rather content with what they have offered us so far. I like to see that Emerle isn’t a cliché of the princess who feels better than everyone, and that she can take care of herself too. The only thing I’m worried about is the Emerle/Wil/Eretria trio – PLEASE DON’T PLAY THE LOVE TRIANGLE CARD ! I am so done with them, and this show could be so much more than that. The cast is for the most part unknown to me, except for Austin Butler and Manu Bennett so I found it nice to discover new talents, especially Poppy Drayton.

Hopefully, the show won’t disappoint me because I have huge expectation with it ! Give it a go while there are only a few episodes aired, that way you’ll be able to make up your mind without having to wait forever !

TwitterPersonal TumblrFan Tumblr – Instagram – Pinterest

Laisser un commentaire

