My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories

My True Love Gave to Me

I feel like I haven’t written a post about a book in forever, but don’t worry I haven’t given up on reading, the books I have been reading lately have been mostly for Uni and I only want to mention books I have chosen myself so that’s why I haven’t been talking about them either.

I have mentioned in my previous post that I have been looking for books that would fit perfectly with this time of the year and I have found it. My True Love Game to Me is absolutely perfect for me because it contains different holiday stories from this time of the year from various authors and it is an amazing way not only to read various stories but also to discover new authors.

One thing I really appreciate about this book is the diversity in the stories. They can either be realistic or contain some magic, the characters themselves have different origins, whether they’re Asian, Latino or anything else, the love stories can be about homosexual couples as well as heterosexual and different celebrations are in the center of the stories, whether it’s Christmas, New Year’s, Hanukkah or the Winter Solstice. So if you were worried about finding the same kind of stories the entire time, don’t worry, you won’t.

But even though all the stories are different, they all have one common point : Love. Yes, I keep mentioning in my post how much I love anything that has to do with romance so obviously this is a perfect book for me. And let’s be honest, winter is such a magical and sweet season that it seems perfect for a bit of romance. Winter might actually be the most romantic season in my opinion. So I do have to admit that this was actually the main reason why I bought this book.

One thing that makes me appreciate this book a bit more is the fact that I use it as a kind of advent calendar. See, I bought it exactly 12 days before Christmas, so I thought it’d be nice to read one story per day. Everyday I wake up looking forward to the evening, when I can finally find out what today’s story is going to be and if I’m having a rough day, it helps getting through it because I know I’ll have something that makes me happy and will make me feel better.

Obviously I haven’t finished the book since it’s not Christmas, but I thought it’d be a good time to mention the book and if you want to use it the same way I do, you can read a story per day until New Year’s I guess ? You don’t have to but it’s fun to have a different kind of advent calendar, and it doesn’t mean you have to give up your daily chocolate anyway  😉

TwitterPersonal TumblrFan Tumblr – Instagram – Pinterest

3 réflexions sur “My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories

Laisser un commentaire

