Bakers are keepers | Carrot cake with almonds

wpid-20151004_161352.jpg
Hey everyone ! 🙂

I have a new kind of blog post for you today, mostly because I haven’t discovered anything special this week worth mentioning to you, because of how busy I’ve been since I went back to school. Just because I have millions things to do – including during the weekend- doesn’t mean I was not going to post this week. I just have to find a balance between the blog, my school work and my life.

Anyway, I thought I’d share a recipe I’ve been using a lot at the end of Summer because my family has been obsessed with it – I even had to bake it twice a week when my cousin came to our house with her little family. As I’ve mentioned previously on the blog (in my Liebster Awards tag if I’m not mistaken?), I love everything that has to do with baking. I find it fun because I always have music playing so I can dance and sing at the same time, relaxing because it represents a break from my stressful life and mostly happy because it always makes my family and friends happy when I randomly make them a cake. When they’re happy, I’m happy.

I thought I’d share this recipe because for some reason, carrot cakes remind me of Autumn. It’s probably due to their color, which is a brownish orange (if that makes any sense to you haha) and the taste, which I’d gladly describe to you if I didn’t suck at describing what something tastes like 😉 And if you haven’t tasted a carrot cake before and think ‘Bleh, I don’t like carrots, I’m not going to try it’, let me stop you right there. I hate carrots, except when they’re not cooked, so you can trust me when I tell you this cake does not taste like carrots. I even added the almonds to make sure it tasted more sweet than what it usually does, even though it’s still delicious without the almonds.

Let’s go into the kitchen !

 

wpid-20151004_094624.jpgFor this cake you will need :

130g of butter

100g of cream cheese

200g of flour

1 tea-spoon of baking powder

3 eggs

150g of brown sugar

1 tea-spoon of allspice

2 normal-sized carrots (I used three because mine were quite small)

40g of sliced almonds

wpid-20151004_161342.jpgPreheat the oven to 150°C

Melt the butter in a saucepan.  In a bowl, mix the cream cheese with the flour, baking powder, eggs melted butter and brown sugar. Dust the allspice over and mix again. Once everything is fully mixed, grate your carrots and add them in before mixing everything. Finish by adding the sliced almonds and fold until it’s all mixed together. Pour your mix in a greased cake tin and put it in the oven for about 40 minutes. Let it cool down and enjoy ! 🙂

Feel free to add icing over the cake once it has cooled down but my family and I aren’t fans of icing as we find it too sugary and I usually end up with a headache because of all the sugar.

Anyway I hope you’ve enjoyed this little recipe which is really easy to make -trust me, if I can do it than so can you ! ;). Let me know if you’d enjoy more posts like this or what you’d like me to blog about for next time ! 🙂

Enjoy your cake and I’ll see you next week !

TwitterPersonal TumblrFan Tumblr – Instagram

Laisser un commentaire

