What’s on my bookshelf? | The Girl On The Train

the-girl-on-the-trainHello little peanuts !

This is the last post I’m writing before I go back to school, which means the end of my summer break ! To be honest, I’m quite excited to go back there because I’ve been quite bored lately but I’m also really nervous, so I don’t actually know how to feel about it haha. I just hope that I’ll get to post something here every Sunday like I’ve been doing the past few weeks, even though I’ll probably drowning in all the work I’m going to have. I think this blog is going to turn into my little safe heaven, a way for me to get away from all the pressure and do something I truly enjoy and hopefully, make you enjoy it as well 🙂

Anyway, I’m back with a book review today, which should be no surprise to you since you know how much I love to read and it’s been quite a while since I’ve last spoken to you about a book I loved. I’ve heard about this book everywhere on the internet so of course I had to see what all the fuss was about, especially since I don’t think I’ve ever had a negative feedback about it? Unless my selective memory was back at it again, which wouldn’t surprise me to be quite honest haha. The only thing I can tell you is that you won’t get any negative feedback from me 😉

Summary (from Goodreads) : Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

My thoughts : One of the things that made me excited about reading this book when I read the summary above, is that the first thought that came into my mind was « This could happen to me ». I take the same train every morning, I look by the window and see the same houses, the same people. I pay attention to everything and everyone I see. Who knows what I could witness some day? Of course my life is nothing like Rachel’s, so the story would be totally different. But who knows, this story could happen to everyone, and maybe that’s one of the reasons why it was so easy for me to get into the story. And trust me, once you start reading this book, you don’t just get into the story, you get hooked.

My love for thrillers/mystery books is quite recent, I think it has only been a year, since I first read one and really enjoyed it. But now I’m all over them. I like to try to find out what happen along with the characters of the book. I usually find what happened before the characters do, but this time (I’m trying hard not to spoil you haha), I did not see that coming. I had a revelation at the exact same moment Rachel had hers. And I also liked the fact that we had Megan’s point of view, from before her disappearance, so we can have some explanations concerning what happened to her, both in her life and the night she went missing.

Having different point of views, from the three main female characters is really interesting because it shows how we can’t judge someone without getting their side of the story. It makes you realize  how much your opinion about certain characters can be influenced by the narrator’s point of view. For example, when Rachel is the narrator, you absolutely hate Anna but when Anna is the one telling her side of the story, Rachel is the one you’ll dislike. Well, actually, I didn’t like Anna even when  she was the narrator but I didn’t HATE her either, if you know what I mean.

The whole books shows that appearances can be far from the truth. For example, Rachel thought Scott and Megan’s life was perfect when she called them ‘Jess and Jason’. She thought she knew them because she saw them everyday and they seemed to be happy and everything, but she wasn’t living with them, she wasn’t them, so she didn’t know what was going on in their life. Just because someone seems happy and living the perfect life, it doesn’t mean they really are. You can’t just assume you know someone or what they’re going through.

Anyway, I recommend this book to whoever hasn’t read it yet and of course let me know if you’ve liked it or not ! 🙂

Have a good week ! ♥

TwitterPersonal TumblrFan Tumblr – Instagram

Laisser un commentaire

