What’s on my bookshelf? | Maybe Someday

maybe someday

Hello peanuts !

I hope you’re all doing well and are enjoying the beginning of the summer break. I’m sorry I haven’t posted for two months but the end of the school year has been crazy, considering it was the end of my days in High School, which means I had many exams to revise for (they ended two days ago so you understand how difficult it has been to come here before). But now that I am, expect more posts for the next three months because I have nothing extraordinary planned which means I’ll have a lot of free time.

So, onto the subject now. The book I’m gonna talk to you about isn’t one I just finished, unlike I usually do, but I felt the need to mention it here because that’s how much I loved it.

I didn’t hear much about Maybe Someday before I bought it, unlike what I usually read. In fact, only one person I know (well.. as much as you know someone from your tumblr dashboard..) read it, at least as far as I know. I was scrolling through my Goodreads (you can add me on the website here) to find a book to read when the person I’m talking about described this book as her new favorite one. I’m one of those who like to try other people’s  favorite things so I decided to give it a try and let me tell you I was not disappointed.

Summary of the book (from Goodreads) : At twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her—and she’s forced to decide what her next move should be.

Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. They soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one.

A passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance, Maybe Someday will immerse readers in Sydney’s tumultuous world from the very first page.

My thoughts : First of all, if you had to know something about me, it would be that I’m a sucker for romance, despite what most would think. And I know that most of the books are clichés and I guess in a way this one could be considered the same way but I find that there is something quite special about this one.

I know a lot of people who are getting tired of love triangles and I get where they’re coming from because even though I used to love them, I feel like it’s the same thing over and over again and I just find it annoying now. So yes, there is a love triangle in Maybe Someday, but this one is quite different in my opinion. See, we’re used to love triangles in which one girl is in love with two boys at the same time but in this book, the boy, Ridge, is one in the middle of this love triangle. But unlike usual, he fights his love for Sydney because he knows it’s wrong to love someone else, especially since he has a great girlfriend in Maggie. And Sydney doesn’t turn into a bitch trying to steal him from his girlfriend, she fights her love as well. And you’ll find yourself torn as well because you’ll LOVE Maggie and you’ll want her to live happily ever after with Ridge because of how sweet they are with each other but then again, you’ll want him to get with Sydney as well, just because their love is so passionate and won’t fade away no matter how hard they try.

Music has also a great place in the books and I love that the original songs from the book have been recorded. Indeed, you can find every single song mentioned in the book sung by Griffin Peterson. I personally think that the choice of the singer is perfect because his voice just goes perfectly with the songs. The soundtrack is available on Spotify if you want to check it out and trust me, you do. My personal favorites are Maybe Someday and Hold On To You but the one that’s constantly stuck in my head is definitely Living A Lie. Anyway, I love absolutely every single one of them and it’s just the perfect album to listen to when you just want to chill in your bedroom or outside in the sun.

So basically, if you’re looking for a new kind of romance novel, full of humor and emotions, I’d say give a try to this book and come back to share your thoughts about it. Same goes for the soundtrack, I want to know if you liked it or not and if you did, what your favorite songs are.

Anyway, now that I’ve read and love Maybe Someday, I’m looking forward to buy Maybe Not, which is about the love story between Warren and Bridgette, who are both characters from Maybe Someday as well. I absolutely loved Warren but Bridgette wasn’t here for most of the book so I can’t wait to know more about her character.

I’ll leave you here, it’s been about a thousand words so I guess you’re tired of me now haha, can’t blame you. I hope you liked this post and if it made you want to read this book then my work here is done I guess. Just tell me your thoughts about it and if you already read the book then tell me so we can discuss about it, either in the comments or through my social media, which will be linked below. Now, I hope you have a great day and enjoy your summer break and I’ll see you soon !

Goodbye peanuts ! ♥

TwitterPersonal TumblrFan Tumblr – Instagram

Laisser un commentaire

