Anxiety disorder | Coping with it at school

2014-03-30 19.34.29

Image from Pinterest

Hello little peanuts, this post is completely different from the others but I felt like this could be useful to some of you (at least I hope so).

If you need to check about a dozen time the same thing, feel stressed out all the time, can’t handle being with people you don’t know or stuff like that, you could be dealing with anxiety. Don’t freak out when I tell you that, I’m totally rubbish at explaining what anxiety is and the things I just told you so I’ll just leave you a link below so you can see what it is in a more specific way.

I happen to be dealing with anxiety so I know how hard it is to cope with it everyday, especially now that school has started again. The summer holidays were really good to me when it comes to my anxiety. I didn’t have to go out if I didn’t want to, I was just focusing on myself (screw everyone else, I deserve some me time) and most importantly, I didn’t have a real reason to be anxious. Don’t be mistaken, it wasn’t always good, I had several panic attacks, even a huge one right before I got into the train on my own to go to England. But it wasn’t as regular as it use to be.

And then, 2 weeks before the start of the new school year, it was like my anxiety wanted to make up for lost time. I had what I call a preschool-depression : staying in bed all day, not caring about anything, no hunger, the feel like I was about to cry at any moment that wouldn’t leave me, the multiple panic attacks with no obvious reasons.. I didn’t even want to celebrate my birthday. Everything was just awful, but at least I was still at home, safe.

But then school started. Now, I have to get up every morning to go to a place I hate, having no idea what I’m going to do next year (it’s my last year in high school) even though I only have until December to find out, I have so much work and a crazy schedule (understand less time to sleep) and to add to the pile… It seems like there is a lot more people in my school this year than there has been before. My social anxiety was already bad before but now, it’s going crazy.

So, if you need any advice for someone who knows what it’s like..

HERE ARE MY LITTLE THINGS TO KEEP MY ANXIETY UNDER CONTROL WHEN I’M AT SCHOOL.

(obviously there is no order, all of them are as useful as the other ones)

1. Get yourself a reminder

It might sound quite useless but I promise it isn’t. It can say whatever you want, be whatever you want, represent whatever you want, as long as it has a special meaning to you. It doesn’t have to be anxiety-centered, you might be dealing with other things I don’t know about. Everytime you feel like you’re about to lose control, you have to look at your reminder. It’s meant to calm you down. Repeat yourself over and over again until you finally feel okay. Another good thing about it is that you can have it with you everyday, even at school. It can be a jewel with your word(s) written on it for example. Works for me !

I personally have a « Stay Strong » bracelet with Demi Lovato’s (aka my role model and one of the reason I manage to handle all of my issues) handwriting. My best friend gave it to me for my birthday, which makes it even more special to me. It’s like having her, Demi and myself reminding me to stay strong. Plus, it’s super general so it can apply to every different issue I have (body image, panic attacks, pressure…)

2. Listen to music

Music is one of my favorite thing of all but isn’t it the same for everyone? Whenever I feel like I’m about to lose it, I like to take my headphones and close my eyes -just shutting everyone and everything out and focus on the songs. It can be calm or angry music, depending on which mood I’m in. Listen to it loudly. So loudly that you can’t even hear your thoughts. You can’t hear this voice inside your head telling you panicky things. Of course, you can’t use this trick in class. Do it during a break, lunch, on your way to school or on your way back, whenever is good for you.

If you know some random songs on your iPod won’t be enough to calm you down or get all your feelings out, make a playlist of inspirational songs. These ones are the best. Your favorite artists probably have some, don’t they? Listen to them. Listen to every word of them. Make sure they get into your head. This probably will calm you down, especially if it comes from artists who mean something to you.

3. Tell someone about your anxiety

It’s always good to have someone by your side. I know how hard it is to talk about anxiety, most people don’t often understand how hard it is to have it. They think you’re just a bit worried about something and overreacting « Everyone’s a bit worried, don’t make a big deal out of it and get over it ». These people are the worse. Make sure to get them out of your life. They don’t understand you and probably never will. But just because some people are this way doesn’t mean all of them are. Some of them, your real friends will know that you are serious and they will want to help you to get through this. These friends are the one you want to stick around.

When you feel your panic attack coming, tell this person. When you know there is a way for them to help you, tell them. If you can’t breathe, make them understand so they can tell your teacher -he/she will allow you to go outside with your friend and take some fresh air. If you’re panicking because there is too many people around you, they’ll find you a place quiet. Even if you know your friend can’t help you with this panic attack, he/she’ll stand by you. Sometimes, having someone by your side is the best thing.

4. Just breathe

Sometimes, that’s the only thing you can tell yourself. Having a panic makes you feel like you can’t breathe which makes you panic even more. When being not able to breathe, you take more and more breaths which then makes you hyperventilate and we don’t want that. As soon as your breath is taking away, remind yourself that everything’s going to be okay. Panic attacks don’t last forever, even though they seem to. Focus on your heartbeats to slow them and then breathe. I have an app on my phone called « Relax lite » which focuses on your breathing through breathing exercises. They can last from 5 to 20 minutes and will help you breathing normally. They will also calm your heartbeat.

***

I hope my little ways to calm yourself helped you in some way. If you have any other one to add to the list, please let me know because I’ll never get enough, will I? Anxiety isn’t a thing that just goes away, you just have to cope with it and God knows it isn’t easy. It probably never will. But hey, I know I’m not the only one dealing with it and so should you. There’s always gonna be someone here for you through your bad moments. If you don’t feel ready to open up about your anxiety because you’re scared they’ll think you’re crazy, then I’ll be there for you. We’ll get through this all together.

If you don’t have anxiety, please don’t take it lightly. I sometimes feel like I can’t fully live my life because of it and I’ll give everything to get rid of it. It just doesn’t work that way. I accepted it. And so should everyone else. If you know someone with anxiety, please don’t get mad at them for shutting you out, for canceling your plans at the last minute… They’ll feel bad enough about themselves, you don’t need them to feel even more guilty. If you force them to go out when they don’t want to, they probably won’t enjoy themselves and the next time you ask, won’t even want to try because for them, it will be disastrous. If you want to know more about anxiety, go here

If you have anxiety, please feel free to talk to me about it, I’d love to hear more about you and your story.

Anyway, I hope you guys have a wonderful day/night and I will see you soon (well I hope so but I’m so bad at this kind of promises..) Bye ! ♥

TwitterPersonal TumblrFan Tumblr

Laisser un commentaire

