What’s on my bookshelf ? | The Maze Runner

The Maze Runner

Hello everyone ! Here it is, my first real post !!! I would be lying if I told you I wasn’t excited about that. Today, I’m here to talk to you about a trilogy I discovered at the end of the summer (aka my birthday) : The Maze Runner (L’Epreuve in French, which explains the title on the picture). Yes, I know that summer had been over for a while now but the first time I wrote this post (yes, what you are reading right now is a rewriting), I just finished the second book. I’ve been wondering if I should wait until I read the third and last book before I write this post but when I looked on the Internet, I realized it wasn’t out in France (where I live) until the beggining of August so I guess the last book will have its own post since I won’t wait until then to write this.

I got the two books for my birthday from my father. I wasn’t excited about it because I don’t really enjoy most of the presents my father give me. You could’ve thought that when I found out about how good it actually was, I would’ve been surprised but it wasn’t the case. Do you want to know why? Because on the cover was written « Liked Hunger Games? You’re going to love The Maze Runner ! » So yes dad, I guess you bought them the second you saw this, didn’t you? See, my dear readers, Hunger Games has been my obsession for years now. Don’t worry I’m not going to talk to you about it, this isn’t what the post is about.. Maybe another time? 😉 As they compared both of the books, I was kind of worried that this would be a copy of Hunger Games but it turns out it wasn’t.

Summary :

Thomas is brought into a place known as the Glade with no previous memories of his life or the outside world. All he remembers is his name. He and about 50-60 other teenage boys inside the Glade call themselves Gladers, and they have developed a community in which every Glader is assigned to his own job. The Glade is surrounded by a giant Maze where vicious, slug-like creatures with several mechanical like arms known as Grievers roam at night. Massive walls known as the Doors surrounding the Glade protect the Gladers from these creatures by sliding closed every night.

Every week supplies are brought to the Glade and once a month a new boy is sent up through an elevator known as the Box. The day after Thomas is brought to the Glade, a girl is sent with a message claiming she is the « last one ever ».

My thoughts :

I honestly loved the books. Both of them. I felt trapped with the characters and needed to help them to get out. The only way for me to get out of there was to finish the book. Yes, it took me a while to do it but when it was done, I felt relieved, free. Just like the characters were. Then I realized the book was over and I was disappointed. I didn’t want it to end. As soon as I put it down, I jumped on the second book. I’m not sure if I will write a post about the second book but if I do, you’re probably going to have to wait a while so I apologize. If you really want one, just ask so I’ll try to get to it sooner.

Bonus : 

If you’re interested, a movie is going to come out starring between others Dylan O’Brien and Kaya Scodelario who are both some of my favorite actors (especially Dylan who is one of my main celebrity crushes – and trust me you have no idea how many of them I have haha) Imagine how excited I was when I read the book and found out they were turning it into a movie !! I can’t wait to found out if it’s as good as the book is ! Here is the trailer :

August, come quickly so I can read the third book !!!

Thank you for reading my first post, it really means a lot to me. I hope you liked it. Please leave a comment to share your thoughts about it, your suggestions or to tell me whatever you want to tell me 🙂

Have a good day (or night depending on the time you read this) my little peanuts ♥

TwitterPersonal TumblrFan Tumblr

Laisser un commentaire

